Posted by: duskfire | May 31, 2014

Now using LMDE 201403

So this morning I downloaded the brand new Linux Mint 17 and eagerly installed it over the old Mint 16 KDE (after making backups of course). Unfortunately, it turns out that as I feared, Mint 17 has the same issue as Ubuntu and Kubuntu 14.04 do – my Realtek wireless card, an rtl8188ee, has an unreliable driver. After about 15 or 20 minutes of activity – or sometimes much less – the connection gets dropped and refuses to come back. I’ve tried a couple of suggestion from the forums, including using “sudo modprobe” with my card model, but to no avail. The kernel for Linux Mint 17 is 3.13.0-24-generic. I suppose one solution is to install an older kernel and always use it, but I haven’t decided if that’s what I’m going to do. I was hoping there would be some kind of firmware fix soon.

In the meantime, I have decided to dual-boot my computer. I shrank the partition and created a new 348 GB one, onto which I installed LMDE 201403.After installing LMDE, I had to return to Mint 17 and update the GRUB entries so it would “see” and list the Debian partition.  The kernel version for this is 3.11.2-amd64. I don’t have any problems staying connected to the internet on this version.

This edition of LMDE uses Cinnamon as the desktop, version 2.0 (the new version is 2.2). Firefox starts at version 27 but can be updated to the most current one. I installed Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup (version 13),  Code::Blocks (12.11),  and a few more casual games. I also grabbed DBGL to use DOSbox, and will compile Nethack4 to play. Haven’t decided whether to review LMDE just yet.

Responses

  1. I was having the same very frustrating problem with rtl8188ee wireless network card after upgrading from Mint 16 to Mint 17 (cinnamon 64bit.)

    Here is what I did to fix my rtl8188ee wireless network card dropping connection every few minutes and acting very sluggish in Mint 17 (Cinnamon).

    Open Update Manager. Click View->Linux Kernels. Click Install under 3.13.0-27. After that is finished, install all updates including up to level 5 (may have to refresh/install multiple times to get all updates.)

    Go to Realtek website and download the latest RTL8188CE package for Unix/Linux, version 0012.0207.2013 (http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=21&PFid=48&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true)

    Extract the folder and open to the folder in terminal. Run the following commands (from readme:)

    sudo su
    bash compat/script/compat-install.sh
    reboot

    Network is running fast and havent had a disconnect since (knock on wood.) It was a very frustrating problem before and I had tried several other things I found on the forums including the older kernel & drivers which did not work.

    • Yes, last night I actually did install the most recent kernel – same one as you mentioned – which seems to have fixed the problem. Thanks for the advice,.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

