Posted by: duskfire | November 30, 2013

New reviews are incoming

I’ve taken a longer break from blogging than I intended. Since Ubuntu 13.10 came out on October 17, I installed it and used it until the Release Candidate for Linux Mint 16 came out. I’ve been using that ever since. I just didn’t feel like writing a review for Ubuntu. It’s pretty good, actually, but I think I’ll wait until the LTS release next spring to write up a review.

The main reason I haven’t blogged is that I’ve been distracted playing Baldur’s Gate 1 and a few other games too (such as Sid Meier’s Alpha Centauri, Icewind Dale, Heroes of Might and Magic 3, and Planescape: Torment). To play them, I installed PlayonLinux. I am very impressed with PlayonLinux so far, and if you are unwilling or unable to buy Codeweaver’s excellent product (Crossover Linux), i think it’s a better option than just using vanilla wine. One thing I found it necessary to do was to make the dock (or the taskbar) auto-hide. If you don’t do this, many games in fullscreen are partially off screen due to the dock being still shown.

Two weeks ago, I moved 2 of my hard drives around – I’d had an 80 gig with Crunchbang on it, but the laptop it was in wasn’t so good. I took it out and put it into my main laptop (a Gateway M460, with 0.5 GB RAM more than the other one and no screen issues). I’ve now installed Linux Mint 16 RC onto that. Linux Mint only released this RC on the15th, but I didn’t want to wait until the final release.  Crunchbang is an excellent distribution (especially for lower end computers), but I still find Linux Mint to be my “go to” standard when I just want to use the laptop.

The main reason I changed hard drives around was that with more than 3 or 4 Windows games, plus all the DOS and Linux games, my 40 GB drive was actually filling up too fast!

I’m expecting to get a brand new laptop very soon, probably at the upcoming Cyber Monday sales. It will definitely have Windows 8 pre-installed on it, but that won’t take too long to blow away…I will have to make a newer list of distributions that I plan to review. I’m hoping that I can dual-boot Linux Mint (for long term use) with whichever distribution I’m reviewing at the time.

OpenSUSE 13.1 is one of many distributions that I’m interested in checking out, and of course Linux Mint 16 is due soon. The RC for Linux Mint has been doing just fine on this old laptop. I also want to review Fedora 20 when it is released next month.

Leave a Reply

Categories

