Posted by: duskfire | December 31, 2016

End of the Year thoughts

Well another year draws to a close. I have hardly written any posts this year, although several distributions had some good releases that I probably ought to have reviewed.

In addition to the new desktop I got, I also have another laptop and a second Nook device. The second laptop is an old Dell Latitude that was given to me, and currently it is running Manjaro Linux. I don’t use it daily, but Manjaro has been quite good so far.

The housemate who gave me my desktop also gifted me with a Samsung Galaxy Tab A Nook running Android 4.4.2. One major benefit to this is that I was able to install CyanogenMod on my older B&N Nook HD+ device since it is no longer under warranty. So it now is running Android 5.1.1 rather than the 4.0.4 stock that the Nook HD+ normally is stuck with. This is CyanogenMod 12.1 “ovation”. Unfortunately, CyanogenMod has been killed off recently after what apparently were disagreements internally in the company, and an attempt to commercialize it. I am now keeping an eye on alternatives to CM, and also the fork that has been announced, named LineageOS.

My main laptop has a lot of games on it now, many Linux-native versions. I usually play most of them in windowed form, because full-screen tends to overheat the machine (it doesn’t have a great graphics card). This week I also discovered that the front-end to DOSbox that I use extensively will no longer work properly under Linux Mint. It seems to be fine on Manjaro, so for now I am working on my Dell laptop.

Hopefully I will do more reviews in 2017, and discuss some games as well.

Leave a Reply

Categories

